Barclays Remortgage Rates: Rate Switch, Great Escape or Move On?

07 October 2026


This page sets out Barclays remortgage rates in one dated table for borrowers moving to Barclays from another lender, the Reward rate switch range Barclays publishes for its existing customers and the point at which moving lender beats a switch. Every figure was read from Barclays' rate sheet effective 2 October 2026, checked on 7 October 2026, and is refreshed when Barclays reprices. Mortgage One is a whole of market mortgage adviser that prices a Barclays rate switch against a remortgage to Barclays and to other lenders.

For a free initial consultation on whether a Barclays rate switch or a move to another lender costs less over the fixed period, call 01202 155992 or contact Mortgage One.

Barclays remortgage rates checked on 7 October 2026

At our 7 October 2026 check, Barclays remortgage rates for new borrowers start at 5.24% on a 2-year fixed and 5.32% on a 5-year fixed at 60% loan to value (LTV) with a £999 fee. The fee-free Great Escape fixes start at 5.55% on the 2-year and 5.56% on the 5-year at 75% LTV. The follow-on rate is 5.74%.

The table lists every residential remortgage fix Barclays prices for a borrower moving from another lender on loans up to £2 million, from its rate sheet effective 2 October 2026. The purchase range sits on our Barclays mortgage rates page. Barclays' remortgage pricing has moved up sharply since its 25 August sheet, with the £999 2-year at 60% LTV rising from 4.69% to 5.24% and the 5-year from 4.77% to 5.32%, so read every figure against its checked date rather than as live pricing.

Barclays new borrower remortgage fixed rates, rate sheet effective 2 October 2026
Fixed rate productMaximum LTVRateProduct feeAPRC
2-year fixed60%5.24%£9995.9%
2-year fixed, Premier Exclusive60%5.21%£9995.9%
2-year fixed, Great Escape75%5.55%No fee5.9%
2-year fixed80%5.54%£9995.9%
2-year fixed, Premier Exclusive80%5.51%£9995.9%
2-year fixed, Great Escape80%5.74%No fee5.9%
5-year fixed60%5.32%£9995.8%
5-year fixed, Premier Exclusive60%5.29%£9995.8%
5-year fixed75%5.42%£9995.8%
5-year fixed, Great Escape75%5.56%No fee5.8%
5-year fixed85%5.74%£9996.0%

Source: Barclays Mortgage Rate Sheet, residential remortgage products for borrowers moving from another lender, rates effective 2 October 2026 and read 7 October 2026. APRC from Barclays' consumer rate data for the same products. Loans from £5,000 to £2 million, Great Escape from £50,000. Fixed to 31 December 2028 (2-year) and 31 December 2031 (5-year). Premier Exclusive needs one applicant with a Barclays Premier Banking relationship. Every remortgage includes a free valuation that is not disclosed to the borrower. Follow-on rate 5.74%. Barclays changes rates without notice.

The range is thin. The £999 fee 2-year fix exists only at 60% and 80% LTV, and the £999 5-year at 60%, 75% and 85%. The 2-year at 75% and 85% LTV listed on the 25 August sheet has gone, and no remortgage fix is priced above 85%. The sheet also carries a 3-year fix at 75% LTV for 5.12% with a £999 fee, the lowest fixed remortgage rate Barclays offers, and a 10-year fix at 60% for 5.52%. Early repayment charges are a flat 2% of the balance repaid on the 2-year and 3-year and 4% on the 5-year, until the fixed end date. Standard fixes allow overpayments of 10% a year, and Premier Exclusive fixes, priced 0.03 points lower, allow 25%.

Barclays also prices a 2-year tracker for remortgage at 4.15% at 60% LTV, Bank Rate of 3.75% plus 0.40 points, with a £999 fee. That is 1.09 points below the equivalent 2-year fix, worth about £156 a month on a £250,000 loan over 25 years, but the rate moves with every Bank of England decision. Barclays remortgage trackers carry no early repayment charge, so the tracker is also the least costly Barclays product to leave. Our fixed or tracker mortgages analysis weighs that gap against the certainty a fix buys.

Barclays rate switch: the Reward range for existing customers

Barclays calls its product transfer a rate switch and its existing customer rates Reward rates, and it publishes the Reward range on its rate sheet. On the sheet effective 2 October 2026 the 2-year Reward fix with a £999 fee starts at 5.21% and the 5-year at 5.29% at 60% LTV, against 5.24% and 5.32% for a borrower moving in.

Barclays product transfer rates on the same sheet run from 5.21% at 60% LTV to 5.46% at 90% on the 2-year £999 fee fix, and from 5.29% to 5.70% on the 5-year, with fee-free 2-year versions from 5.40% at 60% LTV to 5.70% at 90%. The Reward range prices fixes at 90% LTV, a band the new borrower range does not reach. The lowest Reward fix is a 3-year at 4.92% at 60% LTV with a £999 fee. Reward rates are for rate switches and further advances only. A Barclays customer remortgaging from another lender, or buying, is offered new lending rates instead. Premier mortgage customers are offered their own exclusive switch rates, which do not appear on the published sheet.

A customer can arrange a switch up to 90 days before the current rate ends, or straight away if already on the follow-on rate. Switching in those last 90 days carries no early repayment charge. Switching earlier means booking an appointment and paying the charge, unless the move is from a Barclays tracker to a fixed rate. Barclays carries out no income or affordability assessment where nothing else about the mortgage changes and the customer's circumstances have not changed in a way that affects affordability, and charges no legal or valuation fees on a rate-only switch. The switch takes about ten minutes in the app. Through Online Banking a passcode comes by post first, which can take up to five working days. Borrowing more is treated as new lending with a fresh valuation. Our product transfer mortgage guide explains when a like-for-like switch beats a full application.

Is a Barclays rate switch better than remortgaging elsewhere?

For most existing Barclays customers the Reward switch is the price to beat, because it sits at or below Barclays' own remortgage rates and a like-for-like switch needs no valuation, legal work or affordability assessment. Remortgaging elsewhere wins when another lender prices your LTV band lower, or when you need to borrow more.

Barclays rewards loyalty only lightly. At 60% LTV the Reward 2-year and 5-year sit 0.03 points below the new borrower rate, about £4 a month on a £250,000 balance over 25 years, or £106 across the two years. The gap is wider on the 5-year at 75% LTV, 5.32% on Reward against 5.42% for a borrower moving in, worth about £15 a month or £890 over five years. With the switch premium that thin, the real comparison is with other lenders, once fees, legal costs and any cashback are counted on both sides. Our remortgage calculator runs the break-even month for any two deals.

Where moving lender wins is on the LTV bands. Barclays' new borrower 2-year £999 fix steps from 5.24% at 60% LTV straight to 5.54% at 80%, a jump of 0.30 points worth about £45 a month on £250,000, with only the fee-free Great Escape at 5.55% between them. The 5-year steps 0.32 points between 75% and 85% LTV. A borrower just above 60% gains most from a fresh valuation, and Barclays opens its switch window only 90 days before the rate ends, so that comparison has to start early. Our LTV calculator shows which band a current valuation lands in.

To see Barclays' Reward switch rate and a whole of market remortgage costed side by side on your own balance, call 01202 155992 or contact Mortgage One.

Which Barclays remortgage deals have the lowest total cost?

At our 7 October 2026 check, the £999 fee 5-year fix at 75% LTV beats the fee-free Great Escape 5-year once the loan passes £230,000, counting the Great Escape's £150 cashback. On the 2-year at 80% LTV the £999 product needs a loan above about £398,000 to win, so most borrowers there do better on the Great Escape.

The gaps explain it. On the 5-year at 75% LTV the Great Escape sits 0.14 points above the £999 product, about £21 a month on £250,000, or £1,254 over five years, just ahead of the £999 fee plus the £150 cashback given up. On the 2-year at 80% the gap is 0.20 points, about £30 a month, or £721 over two years, well short of that £1,149. At 60% LTV there is no fee-free 2-year or 5-year fix at all, and the only fee-free route is the 3-year Great Escape at 5.23%. Premier Exclusive pricing, 0.03 points below standard, is worth about £4 a month on £250,000 and is a bonus for an existing Premier customer rather than a reason to open the account.

A product fee added to the loan rather than paid on completion accrues interest for the whole term, so £999 costs more than £999 by the time the mortgage is cleared. A borrower planning overpayments gains more by paying the fee up front where the budget allows, and the 25% annual allowance on Premier Exclusive fixes against 10% on standard fixes matters more to that borrower than the rate. Our remortgaging guide sets out the full cost comparison, including fees, valuation, legals and the early repayment charge on the old deal.

The Great Escape, Switch & Save and the Barclays remortgage process

Every Barclays remortgage includes a free valuation that is not disclosed to the borrower. The Great Escape fixes add no product fee, free standard legal work through Barclays' panel solicitor and £150 cashback, or £500 cashback for a borrower who uses their own solicitor. The £999 fixes carry Switch & Save, which pays for standard legals or offers cashback instead.

The Barclays Standard Legal Service covers solicitor's fees directly relating to the remortgage, on registered land only, and Land Registry fees. Extra costs for leasehold or shared ownership work, money transfer fees, a change of names on the mortgage and first registration of unregistered land fall to the borrower. Switch & Save applies on loans up to £2 million. Larger loans from £2 million to £10 million sit on a separate tier with a £1,999 fee and no Switch & Save package, from 5.31% on the 2-year and 5.38% on the 5-year at 60% LTV.

Barclays quotes four to eight weeks for a standard remortgage, and says an online Agreement in Principle takes about ten minutes and does not affect a credit score. Its Fast-Track Remortgage can produce an offer within 24 hours and complete in as little as five days, but only for a residential repayment loan on a standard construction freehold house, not a flat, with no extra borrowing, up to 80% LTV and no adverse credit in the last two years. A mortgage offer is valid for six months from the date Barclays receives the application, with one two-week extension available.

No remortgage product on the 2 October sheet is priced above 85% LTV, and the Great Escape stops at 80%. Barclays caps a remortgage that consolidates debt at 80% LTV, and interest only at 75% LTV with a minimum income of £75,000 for a sole applicant. Part and part is available to 85% LTV. Those limits decide whether a capital-raising case belongs with Barclays or with another lender.

What a lapsed Barclays deal costs on the 5.74% follow-on rate

A Barclays fixed rate left to lapse moves to the follow-on rate, Bank of England base rate plus 1.99 points, which is 5.74% with Bank Rate at 3.75%. On a £250,000 repayment mortgage over 25 years that is about £1,571 a month against £1,497 on the 5.24% 2-year remortgage fix, a gap of £75 a month.

At that gap, just over 13 months on the follow-on rate costs more than a £999 product fee, and the follow-on rate rises with every increase in Bank Rate. A customer already on it can switch at once, with no wait for a window. Between 90 and 31 days before a rate ends a borrower can repay up to 90% of the balance without an early repayment charge, and any amount in the final 30 days, which suits a borrower clearing part of the loan before a switch. Where six months or less remain on the mortgage term, the rate switch team cannot help and the borrower stays on the variable rate or extends the term. Our standard variable rate chart shows where lender reversion rates sit across the market.

If you are weighing a 2-year against a 5-year, Barclays prices the 5-year £999 fix 0.08 points above the 2-year at 60% LTV, about £12 a month on £250,000, while on its Reward range the 5-year at 75% sits below the 2-year. Our comparison of 2-year and 5-year fixed deals works through the choice on total cost, and our UK mortgage rates today page tracks where the other big lenders sit this week.

Barclays' fixed pricing rose between its 25 August and 2 October sheets while its follow-on rate held at 5.74%, because fixes move on swap rates rather than waiting for Bank Rate. Every 2-year fix in the table ends on 31 December 2028 and every 5-year on 31 December 2031, and our UK interest rate projection tracks the market-implied path a borrower would remortgage into at that point.

Figures as of 7 October 2026, London.

If your Barclays deal ends within the next six months and you want the Reward switch weighed against a move to another lender, call 01202 155992 or contact Mortgage One.

Back to Rate Forecast and Economic Drivers

The information provided in this article is for general guidance only and does not constitute personal or regulated financial advice. If you'd like to understand what these moves could mean for you, speak to Mortgage One. We can explain your options and timings based on your specific circumstances.

FAQs

1. What is Barclays' current remortgage rate?

At our 7 October 2026 check Barclays' new borrower remortgage fixed rates ran from 5.24% on the 2-year £999 fee product at 60% LTV to 5.74% on the fee-free Great Escape 2-year at 80% LTV, with 5-year fixes from 5.32% to 5.74%. Premier Exclusive versions sit 0.03 points lower, the 3-year at 75% LTV is 5.12%, and the 2-year tracker starts at 4.15%.

2. Do Barclays offer better mortgage rates to existing customers?

Slightly. On the sheet effective 2 October 2026 the Reward 2-year and 5-year fixes at 60% LTV sit 0.03 points below the rates for a borrower moving in, at 5.21% and 5.29%. The 5-year at 75% LTV is 5.32% on Reward against 5.42%. Reward also prices fixes at 90% LTV, where new borrower fixes stop at 85%.

3. Have Barclays put their remortgage rates up?

Yes. Between its 25 August and 2 October 2026 sheets the £999 fee 2-year at 60% LTV rose from 4.69% to 5.24% and the 5-year from 4.77% to 5.32%. The £999 2-year at 75% and 85% LTV no longer appears. The follow-on rate held at 5.74% and the 2-year tracker at 60% LTV at 4.15%.

4. When can I switch my Barclays mortgage rate?

Up to 90 days before your current rate ends, with no early repayment charge in that window. A customer already on the follow-on rate can switch at any time. Switching earlier than 90 days means booking an appointment and paying the early repayment charge, unless you are moving from a Barclays tracker to a fixed rate.

5. What is the Barclays Great Escape remortgage?

It is Barclays' fee-free remortgage package for loans from £50,000. It carries no product fee, a free valuation, free standard legal work through Barclays' panel solicitor and £150 cashback, or £500 cashback if you use your own solicitor. At our 7 October 2026 check it priced 2-year fixes at 5.55% and 5.74% and a 5-year at 5.56%.

6. How long does a Barclays remortgage take?

Barclays quotes four to eight weeks for a standard remortgage from another lender. Its Fast-Track Remortgage can produce an offer within 24 hours and complete in as little as five days, but only for a like-for-like repayment loan on a standard construction freehold house up to 80% LTV. A rate switch for an existing customer takes about ten minutes in the app.

7. What happens if I do nothing when my Barclays deal ends?

Barclays moves you onto its follow-on rate, Bank Rate plus 1.99 points, 5.74% at our 7 October 2026 check. On a £250,000 repayment mortgage over 25 years that is about £75 a month more than the 5.24% 2-year remortgage fix. You can switch from the follow-on rate at any time without waiting for a window.

8. Do I need a broker to remortgage with Barclays?

No, Barclays takes rate switches and remortgage applications directly, but its offer only compares Barclays with Barclays. A broker prices the same balance across the whole of market, checks whether the Reward switch or a remortgage elsewhere costs less over the fixed period, and places the case where it fits. Mortgage One runs that comparison on every Barclays case before a switch or application is submitted.